Squeak Squeak Goes the Shrew

Shrews live in my park.

These are little rodents that squeak whenever there is danger. I hear the squeaks a lot on my night walks.

But sometimes the squeaks head my way. These are not perhaps the smartest or nature’s selected fittest. They actually run towards me and my two large dogs, which makes at least two sources of predator.

Sure they live within the relative safety of the park’s confines. But there are lots of stray and non-stray cats that hang out in that park. It is actually a feeding spot, where aunties come around before the sun dawns to place lumps of dry (and sometimes, wet) food. (It’s somewhat of a nightmare to walk my glutton dogs with so much leftover foods, including the mushy after-rain piles)

Last night, I was out a little later than usual.

My two dogs decided to go to separate sides of the walkway. Not an uncommon thing.

I watch Creamy to make sure she doesn’t decide to roll in the puddles. At almost midnight. It’s happened before. Many times.

This is when I realize it’s rather quiet on the other leash. As I look over, my curious Blackspot, ears perked up, is sniffing a little shrew right under her.

Then squeak, squeak, and off the shrew ran. At least it was away from me!

My dog could easily have put an end to that tiny animal. I’m frankly surprised it didn’t spark any prey drive. They chase after cats, or try to. Except the ginger one down the street. They have an understanding – they stare each other down.

My theory is that the reason they chop down the beautiful flowering shrubbery that lines the edge of the park because of the shrews. It seems like the trimmers come when the shrew population gets big. There are several bins along the walk but people still just toss out their garbage, including chicken bones and other unsafe items for dogs.

Public Service Announcement – please throw your leftovers and other garbage in the bins.

Leave a Reply

